# **Citizens Awards Committee**

Meeting	Citizens Awards Committee	
Date	Friday 18 August 2017	
Time	Meeting commenced at 8.30 am Meeting concluded at 9.05 am	
Venue	Interview Room, Kaipara District Council Offices – 42 Hokianga Road, Dargaville	
Status	Unconfirmed	

# **Minutes**

Membership

Chair: Mayor Gent

Members: Councillor Curnow, Councillor Wade, Councillor Wethey

Staff and Associates:

Democratic Services Manager (Seán Mahoney) (minute-taker).

Seán Mahoney Democratic Services Manager



# **Contents**

1	Present	3
2	Apologies	3
3	Confirmation of Agenda	3
4	Conflict of Interest Declaration	3
5	Public Excluded minute items: Friday 18 August 2017	4
6	Open minute items: Friday 18 August 2017	5
6.1	Citizens Awards Nominations 2017	5
7	Closure	5





### KAIPARA DISTRICT COUNCIL

# Ordinary Meeting of the Citizens Awards Committee Friday 18 August 2017 in Dargaville

#### 1 Present

Mayor Gent (Chair), Councillor Curnow, Councillor Wethey

#### In Attendance

Name	Designation	Item(s)
Sean Mahoney	Democratic Services Manager	All (Minute-taker)

### **Adjournments**

Nil.

**Absences** 

Nil.

# 2 Apologies

Moved Gent/Wethey

That the apology of Councillor Wade be received.

Carried

# 3 Confirmation of Agenda

The Committee confirmed the Agenda.

# 4 Conflict of Interest Declaration

Nii



# 5 Public Excluded minute items: Friday 18 August 2017

The meeting went into Public Excluded session at 8.35 am.

## Moved Gent/Wethey

That the public be excluded from the following part of the proceedings of this meeting namely:

· Citizens Awards Nominations 2017

The general subject matter of each matter to be considered while the public is excluded, the reasons for passing this resolution in relation to each matter and the specific grounds under s48(1) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act, 1987 for the passing of this resolution are as follows:

General subject of each	Reason for passing this	Ground(s) under Section 48(1)
matter to be considered	resolution	for the passing of the resolution
Citizens Awards	Good reason to withhold	Protect the privacy of Natural
Nominations 2017	exists under Section 7	persons.

#### Carried



# 6 Open minute items: Friday 18 August 2017

The meeting moved back into Open session at 9.04 am.

#### Moved Gent/Wethey

That the public be re-admitted to the meeting and Public Excluded session resolution for Item 5.1 be confirmed in Open meeting.

Carried

#### 6.1 Citizens Awards Nominations 2017

**Democratic Services Manager** 

Moved Gent/Wethey

That the Kaipara District Council:

- 1 Receives the Democratic Services Manager's report 'Citizens Awards Nominations 2017' dated 10 August 2017; and
- 2 Believes it has complied with the decision-making provisions of the Local Government Act 2002 to the extent necessary in relation to this decision; and in accordance with the provision of s79 of the Act determines that it does not require further information prior to making a decision on this matter; and
  - Notes the work must be done in the Kaipara for the benefit of the Kaipara
- 3 Awards Citizens Awards for 2017 to the following people Bev Ross, Stella Woolnough, Lillian Radich, Valerie Mann and Colleen Preston.

Carried

#### 7 Closure

The meeting closed at 9.05 am.

Confirmed ......
Chair

Kaipara District Council Dargaville